Chauncey’s Night 5K

This is another incredibly exciting post for me to write, even if it is about a month overdue.

Logo

After transitioning to Conway, South Carolina to take my position in University Housing here at Coastal Carolina University, I have not been able to toe the starting line. This was a race I wasn’t planning on running, either; I simply haven’t had the time to put in any time to train and/or run. However, on the insistence of a couple of my co-workers, I decided to support CCU and run in the second annual Chancey’s Night 5K!

After a quick warm up, we were on the starting line. Everyone went out extremely fast! I tried staying relatively calm, and get into a 6:30 per mile pace. I feel as if it was slightly quicker, although I didn’t go out with the leaders. I started in approximately 20th place, and within .75 of a mile was to 10th. I attempted to hold 10th, but was passed by two of the local high school female stars. Shortly after that, I settled in to what would ultimately be my finishing place – 12th overall of over 600 runners. I literally ran by myself for the last 2400 meters. As I wasn’t in as great of shape as I would have liked, I never was able to make a move and try to get back into 10th.

The course was interesting in that there was a loop in the middle of it. As a result, I was able to run past a couple of my co-workers, as well as my wife, who finished quite well.

I finished 12th of over 600 registrants with a time of 20:21. I was pleased with this with so little training, although it would have been nice to have broken 20:00. It has been a long time since I have done that, but I definitely see it coming in the next few months.

RyanAmanda

The event was placing three deep in age group categories. I knew that there were a lot of 25-29 runners, and I wasn’t sure where I was going to play. Third place was called, second place was called, and I got pretty nervous. I hadn’t thought I had ran well enough to place first, so I had been expecting second. However, I was incredibly surprised when the announced that I had won my age group!
Amanda, Megan, and I stuck around for a couple of photos, and then we were done! Successful trip!

I will definitely be running this again next year. Super exciting!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

