Chauncey’s 5K – 1st Place Age Group

Pre-Race:

Chauncey’s 5K is a race that I always want to do well in. It is a race that is held by Coastal Carolina University, and this happens to be my employer. A lot of my coworkers come out to run (this time there were 5 of 14 that are my direct peers, my direct supervisor, and my supervisor’s supervisor all ran), and as my Nohari’s Window suggests, I am pretty open about my extracurricular activities. I won my age group last year, and was pretty open about wanting to win it again this year.

Chaunceys-Night-5k-2015

Chauncey’s Night 5K

Amanda’s aunt, Judy, was also present for this race as she was visiting. This was the first race that she had been able to see, so I know that Amanda was also hoping to do well.

The course is somewhat of a loop in the road around the University, so I run it regularly and know the course.

The Race:

The gun is off, and people are moving very quickly. I went through the first mile in 5:52, and thought, “holy hell. This is fast.” Through the first mile, I was in 7th or so. At one point I moved up to 5th, but ended up getting passed.

For about a mile, I was in second in my age group, behind one of our graduate student RAs. He got a 15 second or so lead on me, but I ended up realing him in and finishing approximately 14 seconds ahead of him.

Ryan and Amanda After Race

Amanda and I after the race! This also has my first place age group award!

Post Race:

I had a pretty cool moment post-race. I was walking with Amanda and I heard, “Ryan?!” I turned around met a guy, Charlie, who had actually been reading my blog. If I remember correctly, he said that Chauncey’s Night 5K last year was the first race he had ever done and he was back this year. We chatted for a while, connected, and I told him about OCR and encouraged him to give it a go. I hope that Charlie reads this and connects with me again!

The Age Group placement reward was a piece of the teal turf from CCU’s recently renovated football stadium, which was pretty cool.

Amanda and I hung out a bit, collected our stuff, and then left. Overall, another good experience.

Statistics:

Age Group (25-29): 1 of 14

Male: 11 of 195

Overall: 11 of 545

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Chauncey’s 5K – 1st Place Age Group

  1. Pingback: TrueMudd Obstacle Course | Explore Ascension

Leave a Reply

